Tag Archives: blogging

In the Midst of a Monday Malaise

So I ran for nine days in a row and did not run today.  I feel a little bad about that, especially since the rain that threatened never materialized.  I could have at least mowed the lawn.

Don’t mind me, I am in the midst of a Monday Malaise.  Isn’t that a nicely alliterative phrase?  Hey, that rhymed.  Perhaps I am not as brain dead as I had feared.

Who, me? Get dramatic over Monday?

Here is another image stolen from Dracula’s House of Halloween.  I wanted a change from Frankenstein’s monster saying, “No like Monday!”

Most of my day has not been particularly monstrous, but as the evening progresses I am slipping down a depressive slope.  I suppose it is nothing to worry about; we all have our ups and downs.  However, this particular down is making me SO disinclined to do any of the things I ought to be doing.

Such as making a non-whiny blog post.

Well this is the way it is.  Whatever we may have accomplished (in my case not much, but never mind that), we continue to fret over what we have left undone.  Oh, I know:  you probably checked off every item on your to-do list and even got a jump on tomorrow’s (you know who you are).

I forgot where I was going with this.  However, I see I am over 200 words.  Enough of this nonsense!  Perhaps I could find a good monster to close with.

“I still don’t know why she wanted me to be in this blog post.”

 

Just Time for a Wrist to Forehead Sunday Post

I am up later on a Sunday than I usually am, because I like to go to bed early on a Sunday, but I thought I might just make a Wrist to Forehead Sunday Post before turning in.

One reason I am up later is that I met two long-time friends (tactless to say old friends, but we ain’t none of us very young) for dinner at Carmella’s in New Hartford, NY.  Carmella’s was doing such a booming business, I hardly think they need a plug from Mohawk Valley Girl, but there it is nonetheless.

They are the best!

I had a great meal and a great time visiting with two friends who I met through my late, dearly missed husband Steve.

It was in fact, the second night in a row for me dining out.  Last night my bestie, Kim, and I had a great meal at Yetty’s in Herkimer.  I declared the bartender, Piel, my new favorite person.  He graciously agreed to a photograph.

Isn’t he the cutest?

I gotta say, I love being older, because I can enjoy these young people and say so without their thinking I am coming on to them.  I can just be everybody’s Aunt Cindy.

Oh goody, that is over 200 words. Sufficient for a Wrist to Forehead Sunday Post.  Time to worry about going to work tomorrow.  Or not.  That is, not worry.  I plan to go to work.

Back off, Creature! I have a few more hours left!

 

Sit Down Saturday?

I am having a moment.  Not a bad moment, but kind of a blah moment.  It is in fact a rather strong bout of Don’t Wanna Do Nuthin’.  So I thought to myself, well at least you can do a blog post (did not feel inclined to call myself Shirley today).

I woke up about 3:30 this morning with a bad headache.  No, I did not tie one on last night, so stop tsk-tsking at me (you know who you are).  I am out of acetaminophen but thought maybe more sleep would help with the result that I got up at six, which regular readers know is sleeping in for me.

Weekends are my days for long, challenging runs.  I had neglected to put on coffee last night so I decided to run first.  I ignored my usual weekend running plans and made up my mind to a short run.  Thirty minutes tops.  Maybe even twenty.  Or fifteen in a pinch.

It turned out to be in a pinch,  I ran for just over a mile in a little over 15 minutes (once again too lazy to get the Garmin and check.  I drank my chocolate milk recovery beverage but never got the oomph to fix breakfast till a couple of hours later.  Sorry, body.

I forgot where I was going with all this.  Lame Post Saturday?  No matter.  It is over 200 words, and my Saturday Post is done on Saturday (no matter what my WordPress timestamp may say).  If only I had a peppy picture to close with.  Maybe a monster.

You go, girl!

I stole this from Dracula’s House of Halloween, one of my favorite Facebook pages.   I did drink all the coffee, but sadly there is no longer anybody in my house to strangle me over it.  On that melancholy note,  Happy Saturday,  everyone.

 

Lame, Lame, Go Away

The title might have been more apropos if it had rained a little more today.  I was counting on a big old thunderstorm to give me an excuse not to run.  Then I felt so tired, I just decided not to.  Six days in a row, with yesterday’s being three miles,  I argued with myself, surely that is enough (sometimes I call myself Shirley when I am arguing).  Additionally, this was my own challenge to me, to see how many days in a row I could run.  Wouldn’t this just mean I could run six days in a row?

As it turns out, I can run seven days in a row.

There I was, lounged on the couch, still in my dirty work clothes, too tired to even take my bra off, never mind taking a shower, however good it might make me feel.  I couldn’t believe how tired I felt!  Eventually I stood up and made it upstairs.

“I can’t do anything,” I said.  “But if I could do just one thing, maybe I could take a shower.”  Just take a shower, I repeated to myself.  Just take a shower.

After some contemplation, I followed my original plan, which was to throw in a load of laundry and go running while it washed.  For one reason, all my spandex running shorts were dirty, as well as all my favorite weekend clothes.  I put on a pair of just regular shorts and a t-shirt, and somehow made it out the door.

Just a little overgrown.

I felt the  post could use a picture.  This stretch of sidewalk is on the block I live on.  I usually run on the other side of the street, to avoid the pricker bushes.

Today’s run was rough.  I huffed. I puffed. I thunked along.  I made it for twenty minutes, which kind of surprised me.  I had thought, just run one mile, which I have been doing in 13 or 14 minutes.  Just run for 15 minutes.  20 minutes?  Oh no, I couldn’t.

My first mile was 13 minutes and change.  I couldn’t possibly keep going for another seven minutes! Then it was only six minutes.  I could make it six minutes.  Couldn’t I?

So I ended up running for 20 minutes, about a mile and a half (too lazy to go get my Garmin and find the exact number).   I walked a shorter cool down than usual but gratefully drank my full chocolate milk recovery beverage. The shower felt oh so good.

And this blog post is running oh so long.  How inappropriate for Lame Post Friday.  I guess I’m better at running my mouth than running my body.

I like it too, lame posts and all.

What a Run!

Spoiler alert:  I did it!

Last Thursday I opted for Thirty-Minute Thursday instead of Three Mile Thursday, following Two-Mile Tuesday.  Well, this week I have challenged myself to see how many days in a row I could run.  I am up to six!  I did two miles on Tuesday, less on Wednesday, and was undecided how far or long to run today.  When you are on a streak, it is permissible to have some short run days.

So I set out thinking Thirty-Minute Thursday, giving myself permission to run less.  However, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, I had taken a half hour walk in the morning before work.  Today I overslept (still made it to work on time, if you were worried) so thought a longer run would be better.  Three-Mile Thursday?  Could I do it?

I started out running in the opposite direction from which I usually go, that is, I ran toward Church Street, not German.  I turned onto Church and went towards Valley Health, which regular readers may remember has a pretty decent hill. I was not convinced I would run up it.  Then as I got closer, I saw the sidewalk was shady for the whole hill.  Yes!  It was a very warm, sunny day.

No spoiler alert needed: I entered.

I just spent an inordinate amount of time searching my Media Library for a picture of the hill.  I feel sure I had one.  Perhaps this weekend I will make an index of that library.  Anyways, I wanted to add a picture so opted for this Do Not Enter sign, which of course I defied.  Regular readers know I love to do that.

So I ran a mile.  Then I ran two.  I spent most of those miles calculating how many minutes or what fraction I was from 30 minutes, a favorite distraction technique of mine.  When I got to two miles, I decided to go for three.  I could do it! I would do it!

My body wanted to stop pretty much every step of the way.  I kept looking at my Garmin for how far I had gone and quickly realized how short a block is.  Never mind, keep going.  I treasured the shady spots.  I did not think I could make it.  I flatly refused to go a block beyond my street in case it made my run over three miles.  I ran by my house twice.  I made it to three miles!

And oh did I feel crappy!  Yet proud of myself.  I walked around a block for a full ten-minute cool down.  I gratefully drank my chocolate milk recovery beverage.  I realized sweat was pouring down my face.  Yuck!  Into the shower!

I still feel tired.  And this is a long blog post for me.  No promises about tomorrow’s run or blog post, but as always, I hope you’ll stay tuned.

 

More Phil, Yes!

Every week I say I am not going out, and every week I find a very good reason to change my mind.  This week the reason was that Phil Arcuri would be at Fratello’s Pizzeria in Frankfort.  How could I resist?

Phil is so much fun when he plays!  He adds things to many songs.  For example, he mentioned Chicken Riggies at Fratello’s in “Under the Boardwalk.”   But what really cracked me up was, “on a blanket with my Geno.”  Geno is the excellent bartender.

There was some confusion during “Margaritaville” as to whose fault it was.  Phil blamed Geno, Kira, and Brian.  What none of them seemed to know was that everything is my fault on Wednesday.  It has been that way for a number of years.

Great musicians!

At one point, Geno, the bartender, decided he would add to the vocal entertainment.   He was excellent.

I took a couple of pictures.

They tried to get the waitress, Kira, to sing.  She said that although people had told her she had a good voice, she could not.  I said that was where she and I differed.  I could easily get up in front of people,  but nobody ever told me that I had a good voice.

I was very happy I had gone out.

Fratello’s Pizzeria is located at 158 E. Main St. In Frankfort,  NY.  You can follow their Facebook page for musical entertainment.

 

Time Warp, Two Miles, and Tired, It’s Tuesday

My usual Tired Tuesday pic.

I have been in a timewarp all day.  I kept thinking it was later in the week but earlier in the day.  I was delighted to realize it was almost lunch time, not close to the 9:30 break.  I was saddened to remember it was only Tuesday.  Wait a minute, what did I say about finding joy in every day and not living just for the weekend?  Oh yeah.

I realize I was supposed to tell the rest of my Monday activities, but they really do not amount to much.  Basically I grocery shopped, which I did not think I would have the oomph to do.  I was in fact planning in my head what I could bring for lunch in the event that I did not shop.

Still, I felt I did quite a bit for a Monday and did not feel inclined to repeat the effort on Tuesday.  Yet, I managed to put in some effort.  I ran for two miles, even including a couple of hills.  I surprised myself.

It feels steeper when you are actually on it.

This is one of the hills in a picture taken April of 2020.  Why does it look so gentle in the picture?  I feel quite ill-used.

In addition to the run and walking for a half hour this morning, I walked to the VFW in Herkimer, NY (where I live) to vote for mayor.  Before walking home, I stopped in the bar for a glass of Chardonnay.  It was a most pleasant interlude.

On the whole, it was not a bad Tuesday.  Still, I feel tired enough to categorize this blog post as such.  I wonder if I will Wuss Out on Wednesday.  A little suspense adds interest to my week.

 

What a Monday!

Turns out I’m not Wonder Woman.  I thought that when I was mid-way through this afternoon’s gyrations.  I thought I might post it as a Facebook status but decided instead to use it as a lead for my blog post.  If only I have not waited too long and become too tired to post at all.  Oh, the trials and tribulations!  You are welcome to roll your eyes and play a miniature violin.

I just paused in my blogging for further gyrations.  I made my salad for the rest of the week and fixed tomorrow’s lunch. Go, me!

Only I am having wine, not beer.

I thought a picture would pep things up.  It is Monstrous Monday,  after all.

I believe I have mentioned that all I require of myself on Mondays is to get through the day.  Other than that, I am off the hook.  I have even been known to skip taking out the trash once in a while.  Today, however, I tried to muster just a little bit more ambition,

First, I wanted to go for a run.  I thought I would try seeing how many days in a row I could run at least a little.  Today makes three.  I’ll keep you posted on if I make it to four.  I put a load of laundry in the washer while I ran, my usual multi-task.

After the run, I paused for my recovery beverage of chocolate milk.  While I drank it, I called my parents.  I like to check in with them.  I had a nice conversation with Mom.  I could put the laundry in the drier, take my shower and then…

Wait a minute, trash had to go out.  I feel it is inadvisable to skip a week during warmer weather.  Who knew if I would want to put real clothes on after a shower.  Out went the trash.  Oh crap, look at the dirty dishes!  You are welcome to judge me for not doing them yesterday.  I could do them quickly.  I grabbed my rubber dishwashing gloves.

And was reminded the drain was slow.  I poured in some drain stuff and went downstairs to take care of the laundry.  The drain stuff seemed to work fairly well, till I realized the other sink had a clog too.  I poured in more drain stuff and went up to take my shower.

One thing that confuses me about this drain stuff.  After waiting 15 minutes, you are supposed to run hot water down the drain.  But my water is not hot as soon as I turn it on.  The first time I had heated water in my Hot Spot, about two cups worth.  Well, I thought I was really clever the second time.  After my shower, I filled a gallon jug with hot water from the tub spigot (it was an empty jug that originally held white vinegar, which I sometimes use with baking soda to wash my hair or the sink)  (but I digress).

I did not bother putting on clothes but went right down stairs to implement my inspiration.  It worked!  The drains were clear!  I happily set about washing the dishes.  Please do not point out that this is too much information (an expression I HATE), but I couldn’t help thinking that my husband Steve would have enjoyed watching me do the dishes wearing only rubber gloves and my Turbi-Twist.

Full disclosure:  I did not do all the dishes.  I left two coffee mugs and an empty coffee container.  I declared it good enough.  However, my gyrations were not over yet.

Wow, I am up to 600 words!  That is a long blog post for me!  I am going to stop my tale, mid-gyration, and continue tomorrow.  If I am able.  It will be Tired Tuesday, after all.

“You don’t want a Monstrous Monday Post without me, do you?”

I throw in another monster for good measure.

 

Cheesy Movies for my Lack of Brain

Here I am with the not promised Sunday Cinema Post.  While I looked at movies, I wrote three short letters.  Yes, I handwrite snail mail letters.  These were even on stationery.  People like to get them, and by my rules for me, Any Writing Counts.  Additionally, I fixed myself a real dinner by re-heating sauce I made last week and cooking fresh macaroni, went outside and pulled up a few more dead daisies, then came back inside and chopped carrots and radishes for my lunch.  Full disclosure:  I petered out while chopping so do not have enough for all week.

They are up to no good.

One of the cheesy horror movies I watched was The Atomic Brain.  I have seen it before but always find it amusing.  I especially like the solemn voiceover narration.

More Boris Karloff, please!

I re-watched The Terror fairly recently, but it is next on the disc I am pretty much ignoring while I write this.  The movie playing right now is Unknown World.  I have only watched it once or twice.  It is not a particular favorite, and I do not have a picture from it in my Media Library.

Yes, I am just randomly throwing in pictures now.

I saw The Mad Monster recently.  Regular readers know my love of monsters.  George Zucco is “marvelously theatrical.”  I quote the description of one of his movies, I forget which one.

Obviously not mine.

It is becoming increasingly clear that I have not the brainpower to make a decent blog post,  so I close with The Brain from the Planet Arous.  I must watch that again sometime.

 

How Much Slack Can I Get Away With?

So I let all of Saturday and a good part of Sunday slip by without making a blog post and am feeling a bit guilty about it.  The fact is, I am having the damnedest time getting myself to do anything.  I did go for two long runs this weekend.  Yesterday I did a load of laundry and washed the dishes before I petered out.  Eventually I wrote a few post cards to my usual peeps.  However, there is a lot more that I need and want to get done.  What the hell, me?

Pretty!

I threw in a picture, before I sank into a boring morass of self-recrimination.  These are my front lawn daisies from two years ago.  They are starting to die off now, and I just spent some time trying to cut them back.  This was after mowing the grass with my non-power mower and pulling up a bunch of other stuff on the side of the house.  And that was after my 50-minute run earlier.  A woman my age gets tired.  I never made it to the back yard.  In fact, a number of failing daisies remain out front.

Now I am lounged on my couch pecking in one letter at a time with the stylus on my Tablet, and sipping a glass of wine,  because I feel any effort deserves a reward.  I think I can move on to the movie watching portion of my Sunday.  Maybe I can even do a Sunday Cinema Post.  But no promises.